CCW course offered in Clark County.
Ohio law requires that gun owners take a training course to attain a Certificate of Competency in securing a license to carry a concealed weapon. According to the Buckeye Firearms Association, CCW course applicants must comply with the following requirements: be at least 21 years of age, an OH resident for a minimum of 45 days and a resident of their home country for a minimum of 30 days. The duration of the course is 12 hours and must be taught by a qualified CCW instructor. For those interested in fulfilling their CCW course requirement, the Western Ohio Personal Safety/Firearm Training Group; a 501c(3) non-profit endorsed by Clark County Sheriff Gene A. Kelly, is offering a CCW course on Saturday, 26 Jan and Sunday, 27 Jan from 8:30 AM to 5 PM (includes one-half hour lunch break) on Saturday and 12 Noon – 5 PM on Sunday. The course is held at the Clark County Sheriff’s office, 120 N. Fountain Ave., Springfield. All sessions are conducted indoors both in a classroom and shooting range. There is a $90 fee per student or $75 each for two or more registering together. Early pre-registration is recommended as class size is limited. For information, phone 937-878-1467 and leave name and number for call-back, e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org